Our leadership

UK SBS is a Company wholly owned by its public sector customers and shareholders: the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS), and UKRI made up of the seven UK Research Councils, Innovate UK and Research England. It is a government Shared Service provider. The company provides a range of efficient transactional and specialist services to help our owners achieve their goals.

The UK SBS Board comprises seven members, all of whom are either nominated or appointed unanimously by the Shareholders, and is accountable to them for the effective and efficient operation of the company, in line with the Business Plan and in accordance with the Company’s constitution.

The Board has

  • two independent Non-Executive Directors, with one having been appointed by the shareholders as the Board Chair
  • four Non-Executive Directors from owner organisations
  • an Executive Director, who is the UK SBS Chief Executive

The Board meets every two months and its minutes are published here. It also operates an Audit Committee, comprising two Non-Executive Directors, one of whom is the Chair, and one co-opted member.

The UK SBS Chief Executive is responsible for the day to day operation of the Company in accordance with the Business Plan and instructions from the Board and is supported by the Executive team.

UK SBS operates entirely within the public domain and is subject to Company Law, European Procurement Law and also to public law and administration.​